Busy, busy, busy

Yes, I’ve been busy.

I feel like there is so much that I want to talk about, but I just haven’t had the time to sit down and blog about it.

Some of the topics I was going to blog a lot about were:

  1. My awesome Cold Stone & Wendy’s date with Jen’s best friend
  2. Listening to the CD that Jen made for my Dad, filled with random songs that remind me of Jen
  3. I got my tattoos
  4. My Letter to the Editor got published on Sunday
  5. Tuesday’s pretty much suck

But, because a lot of that is old news, I will just give a brief overview of each topic

My awesome Cold Stone & Wendy’s date with Jen’s best friend

I had a very well written blog about our date, and for some reason it didn’t save, and now I’m mad, and can’t remember all the stuff I wrote. But, I do know that I had a great time. I’ve been hanging out with Jen’s best friend, because it is nice to talk to her, and it feels like I am talking to Jen. They are both tall, skinny, and blonde (poor them) and have the same mannerisms. We talked about work and gossip, and then started remembering all the funny stuff Jen did or said. There was a lot of, “Do you remember when Jen did this….” and “Do you remember when Jen said….” It was good to talk about Jen, and remember all the funny stuff she always did.

We had Cold Stone, and then went to Wendy’s for Spicy Chicken nuggets. We were totally cracking up at the drive through window because we ordered enough nuggets for a small country. Then we went back to my house and watched Degrassi in my room, just like Jen and I used to do. It was a very good date.

Listening to the CD that Jen made for my Dad, filled with random songs that remind me of Jen

I have been driving my Dad’s car, and I usually just listen to the radio. But, the other day, I decided to listen to his CDs. I hit the CD button, and the first song to come on was “Animal Crackers in My Soup” which Jennifer always sang. I started crying because it was just so random for that to be the first song to come on. So, through the tears, I skipped to the next song, and it was “Its Raining Men.” This was one of Jen’s baton songs, and all I could picture was the whole team doing the routine. So though  my laughing and tears, I dance along to the song, and gave all the other drivers on I84 a good show. Other songs on the CD that made me think of Nif are:

  • Please Mr. Columbus” by Lou Monte. Years ago we found my Dad’s old records, and set up the turn table, and would sing the song over and over. Ironic Columbus Day was yesterday.
  • Dominick the Donkey” by Lou Monte. Jen loved the song so much, it was on a lot of her CDs.
  • What is Love” by Haddaway. Yes, we would dance to this and bop our heads.

I got my tattoos

Saturday I went to Graceland and got my two tattoos. I got them at the same time, because I’m awesome like that. I got “Confidence” on my inner wrist and the Alpha (A) Omega (Ω) symbols on my inner ankle. I got “Confidence” because that is the tattoo Nif had (duh) and Alpha Omega for its Biblical reference. In the Book of Revelations, God says:

I am Alpha and Omega, the beginning and the ending, saith the Lord, which is, and which was, and which is to come, the Almighty.

Revelations 1.8

Plus, at the Funeral, one of the banners on the side of the altar was “AΩ”, so I knew it was a sign.

They didn’t hurt too much. I’m so happy with how they came out. I keep looking at my wrist and see “Confidence” and think about how Jen wants me to be strong and confident for us.

My Letter to the Editor got published on Sunday

My letter to the Poughkeepsie Journal was published in the Sunday paper. I only got one e-mail so far, but the lady was very sweet and said she would keep an eye out for me. You can see it and leave comments here. A lot of people called and texted me and said they saw it, so I hope a lot of other people saw it too. Even if they don’t say anything, I hope the point gets across.

Tuesday’s pretty much suck

‘Nuff Said.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Erica
    Oct 12, 2010 @ 17:34:45

    just wanted to say.. that i love the dates we go on =) lol

    Reply

  2. Jacqueline DeVito
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 09:29:30

    I love our dates too ❤ And thank you for coming with me to get my tattoos.

    We need a Degrassi date soon.

    Reply

  3. Erica
    Oct 13, 2010 @ 14:02:20

    no problemooooo.
    and yessss we do! if you didn’t see the new episode on friday, i’ll have to give you an update on whats going on now lol.

    Reply

  4. Trackback: Confidence Beads « Coniffdence | Gaining Strength After the Loss of My Little Sister

Leave a Reply

