Rainbows

The other day, I was driving home from work on I84W, and was just passing the exit for Rt. 311, when a car pulled merged onto the highway. She pulled in front of me, and I noticed she had a Silver Starlite sticker on her back window. I got so excited, I pulled next to her, to see if I knew who it was. I started waving, but she looked disgusted and kept speeding away.

I got frustrated, and just kept driving. Traffic allowed for me to merge in front of her, and I hoped that she would noticed the sticker on the back of my car that said, “In Memory of Jennifer ‘Niffie’ DeVito.” I don’t think she did, because when she passed me, I waved, and she looked away and drove off.

So, needless to say, I was hurt. I kept screaming, “I’m Jen’s Sister! She was a Starlite!” I don’t know who I was screaming at, but I was.

Then, I was driving down Stormville Mountain, and was looking at the sky and mountains in the distance. And what did I see?

A Rainbow!

It was the weirdest rainbow I’ve ever seen. It was so small, and only stretched between those two clouds. I know these pictures don’t do it justice, but it was a rainbow. I saw all the bands of color, and started crying, because it was so beautiful (not Double Rainbow Guy status, but you get the idea). I got my pictures in, and turn the radio on. And what song was playing? “Angel” by Akon. You may call it a coincidence, but I know otherwise.

And as quickly as the rainbow was there, it was gone. I got off I84, and on to the Taconic but by the time I pulled into a parking lot to get more pictures, the clouds had moved in, and my rainbow was gone.

I know there is a Hebrew prayer that one should say when they see a rainbow, so I after some help from a friend, (Thanks Rehr) I found the Biblical passage about it:

12 And God said, “This is the sign of the covenant that I make between me and you and every living creature that is with you, for all future generations: 13I have set my bow in the cloud, and it shall be a sign of the covenant between me and the earth. 14 When I bring clouds over the earth and the bow is seen in the clouds, 15 I will remember my covenant that is between me and you and every living creature of all flesh. And the waters shall never again become a flood to destroy all flesh. 16 When the bow is in the clouds, I will see it and remember the everlasting covenant between God and every living creature of all flesh that is on the earth.” 17 God said to Noah, “This is the sign of the covenant that I have established between me and all flesh that is on the earth.”

Genesis 9:12-17

If you feel adventurous, you can give the Hebrew blessing a try.

So, next time you see a rainbow, ask yourself, “Who up there wanted me to see this?”

I know what my answer will be ❤

 

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Signs Comes in Threes « Coniffdence | Gaining Strength After the Loss of My Little Sister
  2. Trackback: Rt. 9 Rainbows « Coniffdence | Gaining Strength After the Loss of My Little Sister

Leave a Reply

