Tiffany & Co. Part II

So you all know that I got Nif a Tiffany & Co. ring for her 18th birthday, that Mom recently had turned into a ring for my Dad.

I was very honored and flattered that my Mom wanted to use something that I had gotten for Jen, and give it to my Dad. I felt very special when she asked me if it was okay, and I was totally fine with the idea.

But this made me think. Now, Jennifer doesn’t have any Tiffany jewelry, and that is just not acceptable. I wanted to get a pretty necklace that we can put around her urn. I first asked my Mom, and promised her it wouldn’t be anything tacky or gaudy. I did my research online, and found a necklace that I thought was perfect. Over the past weekend, my boyfriend and I were in the city, and I asked him to take me to Tiffanys on 5th Avenue and 57th Street.

We needed to walk a few blocks to get there, and I keep going over in my head, “Do you want to do this? Can you handle it? You are buying a gift for your dead sister.” My thoughts are my own worst enemy at times, but I knew deep down that I wanted to do it. I kept saying, “It is not a gift to Jen. It is a gift for Jen.

We get inside, and I must of had that dazed and confused look on, because a very nice sales associate came over and asked me what I was looking for. I squeaked out, “A need a silver necklace,” and he directed us to the elevator and the 4th floor. We went up the flights, and got off on the Sterling Silver floor.

I became a woman on a mission, and started looking in all the cases for the collection from Paloma Picasso. I looked around, and finally found what I was looking for. And then, like clock work, I started crying. Like, almost unable to talk. I tell my boyfriend, “I can’t do this!” but he told me I could. I tell the man behind the counter what necklace I wanted, and he got it all ready for me. He shows me the necklace, and I say I love it and will take it. I handed over my credit card, and leave with the coveted teal box with white ribbon, and in cute teal bag.

Needless to say, I was a nervous wreck the rest of the day, because I did not want to be walking around with a Tiffany & Co. bag, and have someone try and swipe it. I tucked it in my purse, and kept an extra close eye on it.

I wasn’t 100% sure if I wanted to show my Mom and Dad when I got home, or to surprise them on Jen’s birthday. I decided that today was gonna be a crappy day anyway, so no extra surprises were needed. I showed my parents, and they both said it was beautiful.

I got her the Paloma’s Dove Pendant. I thought it was simple, yet very beautiful, and of course, meaningful.

Dove Necklace

 

Zoomed In Image

I like it. A lot. And whenever I think about it, all I can think of is Forest Gump, when Jen-nay and Forest pray:

Dear God, Make me a bird, so I can fly far, far away from here.

 

I left the bag on the counter this morning, so that my Mom and Dad can put it on Nif’s urn for her on her birthday. What is a birthday without a little bit of shiny jewelery?

Happy Birthday Jennifer ❤

Leave a comment