Wednesday = Not That Bad

As you all now, Wednesday was Jennifer’s birthday. And I think we were all afraid it was gonna suck to the upmth degree.

But, it really wasn’t that bad. My Mom kept saying that the days leading up to her birthday were worse than the day itself. Jim took off from work, but I went to work, and if I needed to leave early, I would have. I didn’t want to set myself up to be sad all day. I stayed all day at work, and went home at normal time.

 

I got home, and my driveway was filled with cars. I didn’t know what was going on, but my Mom’s friends and Jen’s friends from baton came over. We were just sitting around and chatting, and then they all left and we got ready for dinner.

Jen’s favorite birthday dinner was 6ft hero sandwiches, so that is what my Mom got for dinner. And it was really good. And we still had birthday cake – Angel Food cake with strawberries and whipped cream. Jen always called it Angel Foo-t cake, and couldn’t understand the concept of Devil’s Food Cake vs. Angel Food Cake. We didn’t sing “Happy Birthday” but we all said, “Happy Birthday Jen.” Dad wrote “Happy Birthday Jen” on the calendar, and I wrote it on the dry erase board in the kitchen.

My Mom put the necklace on Nif’s urn, and it looks very pretty. Very small and simple, but it makes me happy to see it there. Jim wasn’t home for dinner, because he said, “I just don’t wanna be home right now,” which I can respect. I just hope he doesn’t leave us on all the holidays.

I like having everyone home.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Happy (Belated) Birthday Jen! « Coniffdence | Gaining Strength After the Loss of My Little Sister

Leave a Reply

