“Coming Home”

I know I am a nerd and find symbolism, usually religious, in almost everything. But I never thought I would find it in a Diddy song.

Watch this video, and focus on the chorus, or watch the official music video here:


The chorus goes like this:

I’m coming home
I’m coming home
Tell the world I’m coming home
Let the rain wash away all the pain of yesterday
I know my kingdom awaits and they’ve forgiven my mistakes
I’m coming home, I’m coming home
Tell the world that I’m coming

The song is I’m Coming Home by Diddy and Dirty Money. Now, I don’t know if I am overly religious and spiritual, and put a holy spin on everything, but the chorus sounds a lot like someone passing away and going to Heaven.

Allow me to break it down line by line:

I’m coming home, I’m coming home. Tell the world I’m coming home.

This sounds like the person has passed way, and it returning back to God and Heaven.

Let the rain wash away all the pain of yesterday

I see the rain as tears and people crying, and how they help easy the pain of loosing someone you love

I know my kingdom awaits and they’ve forgiven my mistakes

Heaven is sometime referred to as a kingdom, and when you enter Heaven, all of your sins or mistakes, are forgiven

I’m coming home, I’m coming home. Tell the world I’m coming

Same as before, the person has passed away, and it going back home to Heaven

I don’t know if I am just being over analytical, or if there is some deeper meaning to this song. The rest of the lyrics are just your basic Diddy stuff, but one other part really stands out to me as well. Diddy sings that, “Is a house really a home when your loved ones are gone?” I remember, right after everything happened, I was in my room, getting ready to go to bed, and my Dad came in, and I was crying. And all I could keep saying was, “I have a sad house now. Its not a home. I have a sad house.

I still feel like that at times. My house is sad. And it won’t ever be the same. The worst feeling is when I forget that Jen isn’t upstairs sleeping. Now, in the morning, my Mom, Dad, Jim and myself are all up very early, and we make a decent amount of noise because we are all awake. At times I think, “We need to be quite, or Jen is gonna wake up and be mad.” And then I get mad at myself for forgetting that she isn’t upstairs.

I need to stop doing that.

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Ri
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 14:51:34

    You are completely correct with your interpretation. Specifically in lyrics written by Diddy or Beyonce, there is a lot of religious references in both lyrics and video. You can look up “religion references in popular music” and come up with a million examples.

    Reply

  2. Erica
    Dec 02, 2010 @ 16:20:23

    this made me tear up =(
    it made me remember all the times i slept over your house and all of you were up so early except for us

    Reply

Leave a Reply

