Angie, Our Tree Topper

I don’t know how you and your family celebrate Christmas, but in our house, we have lots of rules and traditions, many of which pertain to the beloved Christmas tree.

Some of these rules include:

  1. Tree goes up on Daddy’s birthday
  2. Angel topper goes on first
  3. I have to wear the tree skirt as my own skirt while helping to put on the lights and garland
  4. Garland must be thrown, not placed, on the chandelier
  5. My tiny pony ornament goes on a bottom branch, on the right side of the tree
  6. “Scary Santa” ornaments go in the back of the tree
  7. Mommy puts on the Mouse Trap ornament, circa 1996

There are many more, but that would require a whole second blog.


As mentioned in Rule No. 2, our Angel tree topper is the first ornament to go on the tree, and she is the last one off. Just the way it is.

A few weeks ago, I had asked my mom is we could have a second Angel tree topper, for Jen. She agreed, and I was on a mission to find the most perfect Angel tree topper ever. I had so many requirements for it, but I could not find anything even close to what I wanted. Everything was too ugly, too chintzy, or just didn’t remind me of Nif. I looked everywhere. Target, WalMart, Sears, Home Depot, Lowes, K-Mart, Christmas Tree Store, Macys, E-Bay, Amazon, Hobby Lobby; pretty much anywhere that sold anything the slightest bit Christmasy. I was starting to get frustrated, when my Lobster and my mom both suggested I make my own Angel tree topper. That way, I get exactly what I want, and it will be more special because it is home made.

At first, I was sorta against the idea, because I was not sure if I could do a good job or not. But then, after meeting my Mom at Toys R Us, and looking through all the Barbies, I realized I would make the best Angel topper ever.

We got Bride Barbe, because she had the prettiest dress, and looks sorta like Jen. My Mom and I were cracking up in the store because my Mom said, “I like this Wedding Barbie. You just need to remove her wedding hat,” to which I reply, “You mean her veil?” It was just one of those funny moments you still laugh about days later.

After I left Toys R Us, I went straight to Michael’s, the craft store, and looked for supplies to make my Barbie into a tree topper. They were seriously lacking on things I needed, so I quickly made my way to Hobby Lobby, the mecca of all craft stores. I got feathers, rhinestone stickers, and found a wire butterfly that I modified so it looks like wings. I even bought an over sized hat box to keep my Angel in when it is not Christmas.

I got home with Barbie and my crafts, and got right to work. I removed Barbie’s wedding hat and fixed her hair because it was a mess. It was such a nostalgic feeling to be playing with a Barbie again. I took off her dress, and pulled up the crinoline, so I could add the stickers onto the satin layer of her dress. I put the letters “J” “E” “N” on her dress, and decorated all over with silver stars. I even wrote on Barbie’s left side the word Confidence because everyone knows all good Angel tree toppers have tattoos.

Next, I busted out one of my many hot glue guns, and went to work on gluing on Barbie’s wings. First, I added white delicate feathers that slightly arc around her, like an orb. Next, I reconfigured the wire butterfly, and glued that on top of the feathers. Lastly, I used extra beads, and made Barbie a pink halo, so that she would be a perfect Angel.

I named our new tree topper Angie, pronounced Ange-ie, not Angie, as in short for Anegla. I am a stickler for the correct pronunciation of her name.

My mom made some room at the top of the tree, and put Angie right next to our Angel tree topper. We even put some Christmas lights under her dress, so that when the tree is all lit, the light shines though and you can see the letters “JEN” shine on her dress.

Needless to say, I am very proud of my project, and as my Mom says, I made a treasure to last for years to come.

Our Tree

Angie, next to Angel, on our tree

I saw this quote on Facebook about Angels as tree toppers, and, even though I don’t agree with  the idea on no tree topper, it is still a nice quote:

I don’t need an angel on my tree; I have one looking down on me.

6 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Angels, Angels Everywhere « Coniffdence | Gaining Strength After the Loss of My Little Sister
  2. yayasbigsister
    Dec 17, 2012 @ 00:51:09

    I had the same ephiany about a week ago when my sister came to me in my dream asking me not to let the family be sad this Christmas. I too wanted to make an angel tree topper in rememberance of Sarah. I lost my little sister, January 22, 2012 to cancer. When i googled “how to make an angel tree topper from a barbie” your blog caught my eye, because of the name Angie, which happens to be our mother’s name. Anyhow, your blogs are great and hit close to my heart.

    The only problem i am having with my angel is that I want her to resemble my sister as much as posslible. And I have yet figured out a way to change her straight brown hair to long curly brown hair.

    Have a Merry Christmas.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Dealing With the Holidays When You Are Grieving | Coniffdence | Gaining Strength After the Loss of My Little Sister

Leave a Reply

