“It Goes On”

You’ve seen that quote before. Maybe in an English class, maybe in some book, or somewhere on the internet. I recently saw it on Twitter, and this time, it really stuck with me.

In three words I can sum up everything

I’ve learned about life.

It goes on.

-Robert Frost

No, this isn’t going to be some English lesson of a blog posting. I never thought it was a decent quote, or something I would even remember until I saw it again the other day. But after I read it, and thought it over, I realized that it makes a lot of sense.

Life does go on. No matter what pain, sorrow, hardships or disappointments happen in your life, it goes on. You wake up the next morning, look back the the s#!tty day you had the day before, and you continue living. Yes, it is going to hurt like hell, and yes, you may not want to, but rest-assured, your life will go on.

In no way, shape, or form do I mean you need to get over what upsets you. You should never get over it. But, there is some hope and comfort in knowing that tomorrow is always a new day and will hopefully sucks a little bit less than the day before.

After you suffer a loss of a loved one, a lot of people start to question their own mortality, and ask profound life questions like, “What is the meaning of life?” I’ve always said – the meaning of life is too live. So, I wake up every day, and live.

If people who suffer far greater loss and tragedy can do it, well hell, I can do it too.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Tweets that mention It Goes On": -- Topsy.com
  2. X-Mas Abasolo
    Jan 10, 2011 @ 21:35:40

    Just what my tattoo reminds me everyday! Live life!

    Reply

  3. scott
    Feb 03, 2011 @ 23:21:59

    Thank you for you fresh honesty about your experience.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

