94 Years

Yup. That is how long my Nanny lived to. She passed away on February 23rd at 94 years old. Can you even believe that? She was born in 1916, and lived a long, full life.

I was so scared of going to the wake and funeral. I was petrified that it was going to bring back all the emotions of Jen’s services, and that I would be a mess. I was most scared of the flowers. I know, I sound like a crazy person, but I have such a vivid memory of the flowers and how they smelled, I was scared the flowers were going to be like a trigger back to August. Thankfully, the flowers were done fine, and no flowers were too fragrant.

I don’t know how it came to be, but I was asked to give a eulogy at Nanny’s funeral. As soon as I agreed to it, I knew exactly what I wanted to say. We got to the church, navigated through the rain, and made our way back to a tiny back chapel. It was very intimate, as it was just our family and few friends. The Priest invited me up, and I presented my eulogy.

I started off by saying how we are all sadden in the passing of Nanny, but we are not here to morn her loss, but to celebrate her life. Living 94 years is a great feat. She was a mother, grandmother and great-grandmother of five great-grand children. Five! That is almost unheard of!

I then shared my Dash poem. Then the tears started. But I made myself finish. I don’t know what it is about that poem that always makes me cry. When I finished, and looked up, there was not a dry eye in the church. Even the Priest said I did a good job, and asked for a copy of my eulogy (I printed three copies). I wanted to make my Dad proud, and present a eulogy fit for Nanny. Granted, the whole time I was speaking, I was thinking of Niff.

I was happy to hear the Priest mention having “confidence” at one point, and it made me think of Jen. I was kinda hoping for some cliche flickering of the lights to candles blowing out, but nothing of the sort happened., but still, I knew that Niff was with us.

One of the most unsettling things for me, was reading Nanny’s obituary. (You can see it here. Click Katherine DeVito). It is weird to see it say the late Jennifer DeVito.

I find comfort in thinking of Nanny taking care of Niff up in Heaven, and keeping a watchful eye on her.

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Trackback: Heros Live Forever; Legends Never Die « Coniffdence | Gaining Strength After the Loss of My Little Sister

Leave a Reply

