“So, do you have a little sister?”

Oyy.

I have been dreading that question for 7 months, and today, it was finally asked.

Lady: Jacqueline, do you have a little sister?


Me: (slight hesitation) Yes, well, I did.

Lady: You did?  (jokingly) What, you loose her?

Me: Kinda, she passed away in August.

Lady: Oh my God. I am so sorry. Now I feel like an ass. What happened?

Me: Motorcycle accident

Lady: Your sister is Jennifer? I saw someone wearing a tee shirt the other day that said “R.I.P Jennifer”

We finished the convo about what to get a 7 year old for her birthday.

I am still shaking and feel like I was punched in the chest.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. scott
    Mar 14, 2011 @ 01:31:37

    Tough question, handled well – and described well, too. Time to treat yourself to another visit to the spa?

    Reply

Leave a Reply

