Spa Day Experience

My Dad calls me high maintenance, but excuse me if I enjoy the occasional spa day. So what if I was there Friday evening and Saturday morning? I enjoy pampering myself, and opted for a one hour massage on Saturday morning because, damn-it, I deserved it.

I went to my favorite spa, Ambiance Zen Day Spa, and had an amazing massage. As I was leaving, there was a woman there offering complimentary 15 minuet session of Reiki. I was hesitant at first, but she said I would feel more relaxed, so I accepted. We went into one of the spa rooms, and I laid down on the bed. She lightly covered my eyes with a scented tissue, and then very gently placed her hands on my forehead. She didn’t move her hands or do anything; she just placed her hands on my head, and her hands felt really hot.  Then she moved her hands to the top of my head, my shoulders, my heart, my stomach, my hips and my legs. I didn’t really feel any different except when she placed her hands on my heart. I felt like I was being choked, and I couldn’t breathe. It felt like she was putting all her weight on me, but her hands were just resting softly on me. I didn’t want to freak out, so I just kept my eyes closed, and took deep, slow breaths.

When the 15 minuets were done, the woman asked me how I felt. I explained to her my reaction to her hands on my heart, and how I felt like I was being choked. She said that I was holding in a lot of emotion (duh) and I told her it was a lot of grief and sadness. I then explained to her about Jen, and the woman looked so heartbroken. She hugged me, and asked if I did any meditation or yoga, and said that I need an outlet for my grief. I told her I write (hence, this blog) and she said that it was a good start.

I’ve had a few bad days during the past week where  I was more sad than normal, but I guess I never did anything about it. I think I may want to try yoga, I just have no idea how I am going to squeeze it into my schedule. 

 

Leave a Reply

