1LB of Rhinestones Later…

As many of you may know, I enjoy crafting a great deal. Further more, I enjoy rhinestones and things that sparkle. Therefore, it was an obvisious conclusion to make something using rhinestones, glitter puffy paint, and an old piece of wood.

I had the idea for a while, but never really sat down and started it. So, about two weeks ago, I went into the basement and found an old piece of wood, that was the perfect size. First, I had to check with my Dad and make sure I could have it, and after he gave me the thumbs up, I went outside and set up my work station. I painted the whole piece of wood in white first, followed by a thin layer of glitter puffy paint, just to give it that extra sparkle.

Next, came the fun part; I started gluing on about a pound of rhinestones (Yes, I now buy my rhinestone by weight, not count. You can too at Hobby Lobby). I spelled out a word using the largest rhinestones, and filled in all the extra space with the smaller rhinestones. I needed to go out and buy more supplies twice; first to buy more glittery puffy paint, and the second time to buy more large rhinestones.

It look me a few days to complete, but was well worth it. I even managed to drop the entire package of rhinestones on the pool deck, so we happen to come across a few every once in a while. I also managed to get the glitter paint everywhere, including but not limited to my deck, the dog’s whiskers, my clothes, my bed and the counter.

My Dad hung up my art above my window:

 I spelled out, “kalookalay” in the rhinestones:

 Can’t see the message? Try now:

Cool huh? I love it, and I love when the light hits it and it looks all sparkly.

P.S. Happy Father’s Day Daddy!

5 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Evelyn
    Feb 20, 2013 @ 23:30:14

    Hi I want to do the same thing but I want to use Pink rhinestones. I have a couple questions. What kind of rhinestones did you use? How did you glue the rhinestones?

    Reply

  2. Diane
    May 05, 2013 @ 01:04:58

    I’m sorry I meant to Jacqueline!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

