Baby, You’re a Firework

Another holiday is quickly approaching, and once again marks that time does not stop, no matter how much you wish it did. However, with that being said, I don’t feel as sad as I normally do on holidays. Maybe that is because this isn’t so much a family holiday, as it is a hang out with your friends holiday. Years past, Niff would hang out with her friends, and I with mine, so maybe that is why I am not feeling so blue.

As cliché as is seems, I can’t help but think of that Katy Perry song Firework on this 4th of July Weekend, and how upset it used to make me. The one part of the song that always gets me is:

If you only knew what the future holds
After a hurricane comes a rainbow

And, these past months have totally been a hurricane.

So many things have been reminding me of Niff, which I guess I pretty normal. I’ve been swimming in the pool with Louie, and have been playing Niff and my’s favorite pool game; Nickles. The game is quite simple. You find an odd number of nickles, throw them in the pool, and see who can find the most the fastest. Very simple, but was so much fun to play because we would fight to find that last nickel, that would determine the winner.

Also, I was being a bum the other day, and got Egg McMuffins for breakfast. I remember that whenever I went with Jen, I would have to order an, “Egg McMuffin, no egg,” which really was just cheese and Canadian bacon on an english muffin. When she was younger, she had such an issue with eggs. When Mom or Dad would make breakfast, Jen would ask for dipping eggs (over easy) and I would have to eat the whites of the egg, before Jen could even attempt to eat the yolk. She would quickly cut the whites off with the fork, take my plate, and scrape them over to me.  Then, not too long ago, she was on this kick where should would make eggs herself, and would label the egg carton with “NIF” so that nobody would touch her eggs.

Hope everyone has a safe and enjoyable 4th of July.

 

Leave a Reply

