Tears on the Thurway

The other day I was on my way to a job interview, and was just passing through the toll plaza to get onto the Thruway from I84. I was listening to K104, and the DJ said something along the lines of:

The Woodman played this song this morning in honor of Caylee. Many of you requested it again, so here it is.

Next, the tears started.

 Not like a few tears, but a full-blown bawl. I was screaming and yelling and crying, but just couldn’t turn the song off. As much as I hated hearing it, I needed to hear the whole thing.

You know the song, If I Die Young by The Band Perry. I mentioned it back in October when I heard the song for the first time. It is definitely one of those songs that makes your whole body sad, but so beautiful that you can’t bear to turn it off.

Then, this morning, I got into my car, pulled down my street, and turned on my radio. And low and behold, what song was on? If I Die Young. Like clockwork, I started to cry. Before I ordered my breakfast, I put on my big aviator sunglasses to at least help hide my puffy eyes.

Thank goodness for my amazing mascara that doesn’t run when you cry. It’s half the reason why I like it so much; it’s cry-proof (and Lord knows I need it).

 

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Shpanno
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 11:13:49

    i heard the song on the way to work yesterday morning and was sobbing by the end of it. seems like it was written about her…. and mostly it made my heart hurt for you, my best friend. always wishing i could do more. you know i love you ❤

    Reply

  2. Scott
    Jul 10, 2011 @ 14:49:54

    Hang on, you’re coming into the one year anniversary period. For a lot of folk it’s like going back to the first months. We wonder if we’ve made any progress.

    Take good care of your self, use what you’ve discovered helps, keep your nose above water and keep breathing.

    Reply

  3. Trackback: Rt. 9 Rainbows « Coniffdence | Gaining Strength After the Loss of My Little Sister

Leave a Reply

