#dearyoungself

Ten minuets ago, I was staring blank post, not sure of what to blog about. I took a break, logged into Twitter, and read through my feed. On the right side was some of the trending topics, many with the popular hash-tag (#) symbol. I saw one, clicked on it, and read what some other Twitter users had to say.

The trending topic? #dearyoungself

I normally don’t partake in trending topics with their clever hashtags, but today I felt the need to share. I didn’t need much time to think about what I wanted to tweet, and typed up my 140 characters of what I would want to share with my younger self.

#dearyoungself Never take anything for granted. And tell everyone you love them everyday ❤ missunif

Seriously, I could probably write an entire novel that rivals War and Peace in size, about all the important things I would want to tell younger Jacqueline. Most notably, I would write a lot about Jen, and tell younger me to cherish every single moment of Niff’s 6,863 days of her beautiful and cherished life. I would tell me to be more patient and nicer to her, and not get so upset when she would borrow my stuff (usually without asking first). I’d also tell me to be a better sister, even though I am not quite sure what that would include.

I don’t know if younger me would be able to completely grasp the concept of loosing Jen, even I was writing to myself just a day before her passing. But in retrospect, would anyone be able to fully grasp the notion of something so devastating? I don’t believe it is anything anyone can fully and properly prepare for. We all, unfortunately, hear about family and friends who suffer from terminal illnesses, and given a timeframe before the disease takes someone’s life. Even then, with a physician’s time line, and even with saying our goodbyes, I don’t think anyone would be prepared, and in all seriousness, that really sucks.

Other things I would tell younger me:

  • Stay strong
  • It will get better
  • Seriously, don’t take a single thing for granted, and tell everyone you love them. I mean it
  • Be thankful for everything you have, and cherish things and people who deserve it

Things I wish future Jacqueline could tell current me (this is staring to sound like an episode of the Twilight Zone):

  • The pain will get better
  • You did an amazing job of handling yourself back then
  • I’m glad you never let your grief and sadness get the best of you
  • I love you

 

What would you tell your younger self?

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. LissaL
    Aug 01, 2011 @ 11:26:31

    It’s been awhile since I have visited your blog. I really admire your dedication to writing about your love & relationship with your sister. There is much I would love to write about my beloved sis, however, even after 5 years I find it difficult.(my most current post about her is here >> http://tinyurl.com/3cvbadh ) I wish I could say that I have handled my grief & sadness well. (some would say I have-others not so much) But I know my sis would understand. You were right in your assessment of being able to say goodbye. My dad died 18mos after my sis. He had cancer. Either way It sucks.

    Reply

    • Jacqueline DeVito
      Aug 01, 2011 @ 21:34:31

      Thank you for your kind words ❤ There is no right or wrong way to handle your grief (as long as you are not hurting yourself). Your poem to your sister is beautiful, and she is beautiful too! I'm sorry to hear about your father as well. Hope to read more of your blogs about your sister

      Reply

  2. LissaL
    Aug 02, 2011 @ 12:33:51

    {{{Hugs}}}

    Reply

Leave a Reply

