Palm Rose & Cross

I feel very guilty that I have not blogged in a while. It has been a very busy past week or so, and I just have not had time to gather my thoughts. However, I’m back, and have lots of good stories to share.

Mom and Dad just got home from a week long vacation in San Diego, California. They stayed at this amazing hotel, and did lots of shopping at the cute little stores and boutiques along the beaches.

Now, I am not 100% of how everything transpired, but I guess one particular sales woman was complimenting my Mom on her necklace with a single pearl. My Mom thanked her, and said that she never takes off her necklaces, because her pearl is tangled up with the cross necklaces that Jen used to wear, and how Jen passed away last August.

The woman, who happened to make flowers out of palm leaves, handed my mom a beautiful rose.

Mom thanked her, hugged her for her kindness, and then my Mom and Dad continued to walk down the boardwalk. Next thing they knew, the woman was running down the boardwalk after my parents, and gave my Mon one more thing:

The very nice woman made a second rose out of a palm leaf, and placed in on a cross she also made out of palms. She told my Mom that one rose was for her, and the rose with the cross was for Jen.

My Mom was telling me this story and I tried so hard not to cry. I was so touched by this random woman’s kindness and generosity.

Sometimes, the compassion of complete strangers can be overwhelming.

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Scott
    Sep 20, 2011 @ 21:05:24

    More proud to be living in San Diego….though I know this kindness is universal.
    Thanks for sharing your stories…

    Reply

Leave a Reply

