Whole-Wheat Spaghetti with Lemon and Chicken

Last night I made myself something for dinner that I haven’t made since Jen passed away. I must have made it for myself one night for dinner, and Nif had some, and really enjoyed it. Going forward, whenever we were on our own for dinner, she would ask me to make it, and I always did.  After she passed away, I couldn’t really bring myself to make it, but last night I did (and it was quite tasty).

It’s a modification of something I saw on Food Network. The recipe called for grilled salmon, so I switched it with grilled chicken, and made a few other adjustments based on what we had in the house. Jen would always pick out just the pieces of chicken, and leave me with all the spaghetti.

It is easy enough to make:

Whole-Wheat Spaghetti with Lemon and Chicken

Total Time: 20 min

Prep: 10 Min

Cook: 10 Min

Ingredients:

1 pound whole-wheat spaghetti pasta

1 clove garlic, minced (I use the already-minced-garlic in the jar)

2 tablespoons extra-virgin olive oil

1 tablespoon butter

1/2 teaspoon salt, plus more for seasoning

1/2 teaspoon freshly ground black pepper, plus more for seasoning

2 boneless, skinless chicken breasts (except last night I used a package of chicken tenders, and they were easier to work with)

2 tablespoons lemon juice (I use the stuff from the bottle)

Directions

Bring a large pot of salted water to a boil over high heat. Add the pasta and cook until tender but still firm to the bite, stirring occasionally, about 8 to 10 minutes.

Season the chicken with extra virgin olive oil, salt and pepper. Cook on the grill over medium flame until cooked through. Let cool, then cut into bite sized pieces.

In a medium sized skillet over medium heat, combine the butter, some olive oil and the garlic. Toast the garlic, and then add the lemon juice.

Drain pasta and transfer to a large bowl. Add the garlic and extra-virgin olive oil mixture, and toss to coat.

Add the grilled chicken and toss to mix it all up.

The whole time I was eating it, I thought of sharing it with Jen on the couch as we watched Sponge Bob.

Leave a Reply

