No Christmas Cards This Year

Every year, right around Thanksgiving, I start prepping to send out my Holiday cards. I find my spread sheet from the year before, and update it to reflect new friends I want to mail a card to, people I’ve lost touch with, and spend days confirming  everyone’s correct mailing address. Lastly, I start the all-important task of finding the perfect card to mail out.

I hoard my Hallmark coupons, and try and find the best box set that 1.) does not cost millions of dollars and 2.) does not have a white envelope. (I hate white envelopes. I try to find red ones). Lastly, I decide on my return address label, and start printing them up. Last year, I had a QR code on the label that linked to a YouTube video.

However, with all that being said, I have decided to not send holiday cards this year. Instead, I am going to send a check to the Jennifer DeVito Memorial Scholarship Fund through the Silver Starlites. I’ve decided that I will send funds for roughly the same as 70 cards plus postage (which is about how many cards I send each year). As much as I enjoy sending cards, I feel that helping a graduating senior with college costs is a bit more important than some card that will get thrown away come 12/26. Plus, I have made it my mission to make sure the Jennifer DeVito Memorial Scholarship Fund always has funds, and (more importantly) recipients remember who Nif was, and her role with the Silver Starlites.

Silver Starlites | Jennifer "Niffie" DeVito

I’ve already been in contact with the coach, and she told me they are going to have lots of graduating seniors in the next few years, so I want to make sure they all receive sizable scholarships.

So far, so many of you have made donations to this Scholarship, and for that, I thank you.

If you are interested in making a donation as well, please leave a comment below, and I will reach out to you directly.

4 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Aunt M
    Dec 05, 2012 @ 15:06:17

    Hey kiddo Uncle Dan and I most definatley want to donate ❤

    Reply

  2. Teresa Leske
    Dec 07, 2012 @ 21:37:01

    Jacqueline: I honor you as much as I honor Jen as I will also follow your footsteps and make a donation to the scholarship in the same manner. By the way the team is having their holiday party on Dec 15th and we would love to have you celebrate with us! We need judges for the traditional holiday hiphop contest..I know Jen watches it as she would so be leading the pack during this fun tradition. Email me and I will send you the details.
    Teresa Leske (mom to Annamarie & Robbie, current members)

    Reply

Leave a Reply

