Something Blue

Yes, yes; I know. I haven’t posted in a while. I was a bit preoccupied with getting married ❤

You may remember a while back I posted about how to incorporate Jen’s memory into our wedding. One thing I did was I used Jen’s old baton hair pieces as my something blue.

When Nif first started out twirling, and began to do her first solo events, my Mom bought her some blue sequin flower appliques to wear in her hair; they matched her royal blue costume and everything. Then, as the years went on, the costumes became more elaborate (and as did the hair accessories). The blue flower hair pieces were stashed away in the “hair bag” (filled with scrunchies, bobby pins, and the like) and forgotten about.

After Jen’s passing, and when I packed up my room to move in with my then boy friend (we’re married now, tee hee), I found the old hair bag, and the blue flower pieces. That day, I knew that those blue hair pieces would be my something blue on my wedding day. I didn’t know then how I would use them, I just knew that they would be part of my big day.

Fast forward a few years, and the time comes to plan my wedding. My Mom and I go over how to best use the blue flower pieces, and we ultimately decide to have it added to my bouquet.

I meet with the florist, and explained to them that I would provide the pieces to be added to the bouquet.

The morning of my wedding, the florist dropped off all the bouquets, and I was in awe of how perfect my bouquet looked. It was even better than I had imagined.

 

Somehthing Blue

See the blue sequins on the stems of my bouquet? Those were Jen’s ❤

3 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Daina Barcia
    Jul 07, 2016 @ 12:39:20

    Absolutely beautiful! The story, the memory, the picture, everything! 🙂

    Reply

  2. Aunt Margaret
    Jul 07, 2016 @ 13:39:01

    💓

    Reply

  3. Aunt Lynn
    Jul 08, 2016 @ 23:45:37

    Beautiful and touching

    Reply

Leave a Reply

