Stop Bitching About Turning 30

That’s right. I said it.

For me, this year has been full of so many 30th birthdays. It seems that people have this preconceived notion that when you turn 30, you become “old.” Granted my husband teases me that I too will be turning 30 in a few weeks, but I simply reply with:

Bring. It. On.

I never thought of myself as someone who worries too much about my age. Granted, I do have a very elaborate skin care regime, but beyond that, I haven’t found myself fixated on turning the big 3-0. I find myself with some aches and pains in the morning, and I like to get to bed early, buy beyond  that, I’m good. I don’t feel 30. I don’t look like I’m 30 (I think?), and I’m not wrapped up in this idea that turning 30 now means I’m old.

What does bother me, and more so, upsets me, is when people complain about turning 30.

“Oh my gosh, I’m so old.”

“I can’t believe I’m going to be 30.”

“Blah blah 30 blah”

To you 30 naysayers, I say this: Shut up.

You have been given a gift. You have been blessed to be on the crazy, whirlwind of a planet, for 30 years. 3 Decades. 360 Months. 10,950 Days, and so on.

So many people, Jennifer included, have not been able to reach this milestone. You should not fear 30. You should embrace it!

When people worry about getting old, I remind them of this:

Do not regret growing older. It is a privilege denied to many.

So ladies and gentlemen, I kindly ask you stop worrying about turning 30 (or any age you may consider old), and be proud of yourself.

Be proud and excited for being as old, and and wonderful as you are.

 

1 Comment (+add yours?)

  1. Sandy
    Nov 05, 2017 @ 20:28:01

    I landed on your blog by searching for rhinestones/glue! Odd, how the internet works sometimes. Haven’t found what I was looking for, but became captivated with your story. Random internet musings, happy and sad stories can really touch a total stranger! First – I’m so sorry you lost your, Niffer! And at such a long age. Both of you, and your brother too 😦 And your parents, oh, the heartache!!! I hope with time the pain has become less for all of you. The heartache never really goes away. I think, some days are just less sad than others. Acceptance for things we can not change… And now, you’re married and turning thirty!!! The “decade” birthdays never hit me. Until 50 came. I wasn’t sad. It was just an odd feeling – I’ve likely lived more than half of my life. I remembered family and dear friends who have long since passed. How crazy, at 50 it seemed to me, they have been gone some thirty or forty years. I consider myself lucky to have had them as long – or as short as I did. I STILL MISS THEM. I’m also lucky that I still have my siblings. I hope it will be many more years before I feel that loss. How smart of you to talk 😉 “write” your feelings out. I have a feeling, it has been helpful to you. To work through your pain and yet a beautiful tribute to your sister. I hope you still love rhinestones like the ones you glued on the board & your dad hung for you! As I near sixty, I still love rhinestones! They sparkle like the smiling eyes of everyone we love ❤️

    Reply

Leave a Reply

